Home > General Knowledge > History Of Indian National Congress

History Of Indian National Congress

Founded in 1885 by members of Theosophical SocietyAllan Octavian Hume(A.O Hume), Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee(W.C Banerjee), Surendranath Banerjee, Monomohun Ghose, Mahadev Govind Ranade and William Wedderburn.

First meeting of the Congress was held in Bombay, with the approval of Lord Dufferin, the then-Viceroy.

Womesh Chandra Bannerjee (W.C Banerjee)was the first President of the INC. The first meeting was scheduled to be held in Pune, but due to a plague outbreak there, the meeting was later shifted to Bombay. The first session of the INC was held from 28–31 December 1885, and was attended by 72 delegates.

Badruddin Tyabji was the “First Muslim” to become the “President of Indian National Congress” in 1887 at Madras session of Congress.

George Yule was the first English president in 1888 at Allahabad session of Congress.

In 1916,A.C majumdar presided the lucknow session.here,famous Lucknow Pact was signed.

In 1917,Annie Besant became the first woman president at Calcutta session.

n 1923, Abul Kalam Azad became the youngest man to be elected Congress President at Delhi at a special session of the congress.

In 1925 at kanpur, Sarojini Naidu became the first Indian woman president of congress.

In 1928,At calcutta, first All India Youth Congress was formed at the session presided by Motilal Nehru.

In 1929,At Lahore,Poorna Swaraj resolution was passed,presided by Jawahar Lal nehru.

In 1931,At karachi,presided by Vallabhbhai Patel,resolution on Fundamental rights and the National Economic Program was passed.

In 1937 at Faizpur,first session in a village was held,presided by Jawahar Lal Nehru.

In 1938,At Haripura session presided by Subhash Chandra Bose,a National Planning Committe was set-up under J.L.Nehru.

In 1939,At Tripuri session,Subhash Chandra BoseBose was re-elected but had to resign due to protestby Gandhiji (as Gandhiji supported Dr.Pattabhi Sitaramayya). Rajendra Prasad was appointed in his place.

Disclaimer: This article has been sourced from Crack Exams.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: